Sunday, February 19, 2006

Risotteria-NYC

I was recently in NYC for a job interview and was staying in the West Village with a friend that goes to NYU. She had been telling me about a gluten-free restaurant that she lived by. When I arrived to her dorm, the first thing I made her do was walk me past this restaurant. I was extremely excited about it--and after I saw the menu I couldn't wait for our 8 o'clock dinner! I had a shrimp pizza for dinner (without cheese, as I'm also sensitive to lactose), and my friend got the non-GF Caesar Salad. Risotteria offers gluten-free paninis, salads, pizzas, and more, and their prices are pretty reasonable.

Tuesdays are gluten-free Pasta and Beer day. Unfortunately, being under 21, I wasn't able to taste the beer. They import their pasta directly from Italy, and make them with traditional pasta sauces. They also offer great breadsticks with every meal! I would definitely recommend this restaurant for any Celiac in Manhattan that

Risotteria is located at 270 Bleecker Street, and the phone number is 212.924.6664. I am not sure whether or not they take reservations; it is a very small restaurant (maybe 10 tables). Their website can be found at www.risotteria.com. Definitely check it out.

Thursday, February 16, 2006

GF Candy

Here are some mainstream GF candies (all companies called as of 1/15/06):

Sour Patch Kids (all flavors)
Skittles (all flavors)
Starburst (all flavors)
M & Ms (except CRUNCHY variety)
3 Musketeers

I will update this post as I check on which types of Snickers and Milky Ways are NOT gluten-free. I know that the general types of each are GF.

Wednesday, February 15, 2006

Gluten-Free Pasta Sauce

This letter just arrived in my inbox:

"Mr. Stephen, we received your message and appreciate your taking
the time to contact Campbell Soup Company.

The following Prego Sauces are gluten free:

Prego Traditional Sauce
Prego Three Cheese Pasta Sauce 26oz.
Prego Mushroom 4 lb 3oz PET

Thank you for visiting the Prego Sauce website.

Prego Sauce Web Team"

Enjoy!

Tea and Hard Candy

I just called Tazo Tea (frequently sold in Starbucks), and they told me that all teas are gluten-free EXCEPT for: Green Ginger, Tazo Honeybush, Lemon Ginger, and Tea Lemonade. Celestial Seasonings tea brand has also started marking which of their teas are and are not gluten-free. I had the Bengal Spice last night, and it was delicious. Be sure to check on the box before purchasing!

I also called Baskin Robbins for information about their hard candy line (Sherbet, Mint Chocolate Chip, Vanilla), and they said that all of their hard candies are gluten-free.

Saturday, February 11, 2006

"Just Born" Gluten-Free Product Listing!

I was just sent a product listing by the Candy Company "Just Born." Below is an excerpt from the letter and below that is a description of all of their gluten-free products!

"Dear Stephen:
Enclosed is a complete list of our candies. All of these products are derived from corn; therefore, to the best of our knowledge, they are gluten-free. The modified food starch used in the manufacture of jelly bean candies is corn starch."

Product Listing:
Mike and Ike: Original Fruits, Tangy Twister, Tropical Typhoon, Berry Blast, Jolly Joes

Hot Tamales: Hot Tameles & Hot Tamales Fire

Zours: Original Fruitz and Punch Fruitz

Marshmallow Peeps: Valentine's Day Hearts, Pink Hearts, and Decorating Kit; Easter Chicks and Bunnies, Eggs, Decorating Kit, Chick inside a Milk Chocolate Egg, Chick inside a Crispy Milk Chocolate Egg; Halloween Pumpkins, Spooky Cats, and Ghosts, Cocoa Cats, Decorating Kit; Christmas Trees and Snowmen, Cutouts, Decorating Kit

Chew-Ets Peanut Chews: Original Dark and Mlik Chocolatey

Teenee Beanee Jelly Beans: Americana Medley, Island Breeze, Country Retreats, and Luxor Licorice

Just Born Jelly Beans: Original Fruit Flavored, Spice Flavored, Licorice Flavored, Berry Flavored
------------------
I hope this helps!

Tuesday, February 07, 2006

Introduction

Hello Everybody!,
My name is Stephen, and I am a 19 year old college student. I was this past June diagnosed with Celiac Disease (June '05), and have now decided to share any information I can find with the world! I am trying to make it easier for people with Celiac Disease, especially youths, to grapple with the limits that are placed upon us. Look back here soon for updates on some great gluten-free candy, snacks, restaurants, and tips.
Soon,
Stephen